Social Media Quick Tips: Blog Commenting Do’s and Don’ts

As a follow-up to the Social Media Workshop I conducted with Finger Lakes Wine Country Tourism Marketing Association last week, I will be offering quick tips on best practices and worst practices in social media engagement.

We discussed the value of commenting on wine blogs to build your personal brand and expertise.  One of the things I advised was to comment in a way that isn’t self-promotional, full of fluffy marketing speak, etc. but rather as a way to continue the conversation that is already going on in the post, to add a new perspective on a topic or to educate.  Of course most blogs allow you to include a hyperlink to your winery’s website or blog so that if a reader wishes to he/she can click on the link to find out more about you.

I forgot to mention that it is not advisable or looked upon favorably to promote your own events or  products directly in the comments section.  Bloggers decide what they feel is relevant in creating the content for their readers.  If you write your own event or product content as a blatant way of using the blog for advertising purposes, the blogger and the blog’s readers are likely to be offended by that.

By all means, don’t let this advice scare you from commenting.  I read recently that fear of attack is one of the reasons most readers lurk and don’t comment on blogs.  Just think it through and be authentic, provide insight, resources, a fresh perspective on topic and you’ll see that your comments will be well received.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Once again, after reading that post, I’m sorry I missed the seminar. I do like the followup – and would like to add that it is hard to ‘teach’ authentic. But you are truly authentic. Cheers.

    Reply

  2. Thank you for the compliment, Meg. I have a feeling that you’re beyond the “basics” stage because I’ve seen you engaging here, on Twitter and Facebook already. That’s great to see!

    It’s invaluable to receive feedback here in the comments, so feel free to continue sharing your insights for others to learn from.

    Reply

  3. Melissa—I just read your PowerPoint on social media—-wow, great stuff! I learned a ton, and just in time, since I’m one of two presenters on March 31st to local business owners on using social media wisely, here in Oak Park, IL. While I have a firm grounding on some of the goings-on, there’s always so much to learn.

    Reply

  4. Thanks, Matt! Let me know if I can provide any info or insights for your presentation. There really is so much to learn and keep up with on the social media front. I got some nice feedback on the use of videos, so I recommend them if you have time.

    Best of luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

